1086 - Wilcot Manor

The history of the Manor in brief is below:

The Manor was mentioned in the Domesday book of 1086.

It was given to the monks of Bradenstoke 100 years later. After the Reformation and Dissolution of the Monsteries, the King, Henry VIII, gave it to William Allen.

He quickly sold it to John Barwick, whose daughter Ann married Sir Thomas Wroughton. And their family held the Manor until they sold it in 1919, though none of them lived there after the mid-19th century. Admiral JW Montagu lived at Seend, and his brother at Stowell Park, and their sister Georgiana Gore (1786-1854) lived at the Manor. But after her death it was occupied by Lord Algernon St Maur, with his wife and children including Ernest, Hugh Owen Tudor (1880s), Lindsey Bury (1890s), James Shuter (1900s).

The estate originally included all of Wilcot. There were several farms. These were regularly surveyed and mapped to maximised income.

In the mid and late 19th century, David Gilbert and his descendants managed the estate. The estate was responsible for virtually the entire village, and the account books give a fascinating picture of the farm produce supplied to the big houses (here from 1853) and the repairs needed to cottages (here 1897):

Wilcot Manor estate accounts 1853 kept by Gilbert family: farm produce supplied to Stowell House

Wilcot Manor estate accounts 1897 kept by Gilbert family: repairs to cottages

From 1919, the village has ceased to belong to the Manor. The Manor itself passed first to Lord Ernest St Maur (died 1922) and his widow, Lady Emily St Maur; and then in the period since WWII it was owned by David Niven (briefly) and by Countess Westmorland, among others. Princess Margaret visited Countess Westmorland there.